Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can I use a Counter Target Spell on enchantments? Enchantments are considered spells right?

Thanks.

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

Spells are anything that you cast from your hand and add to the stack. Lands and abilities are not spells.

A spell is a card on the stack. As the first step of being cast (see rule 601, "Casting Spells"), the card becomes a spell and is moved to the top of the stack from the zone it was in, which is usually its owner's hand. (See rule 405, "Stack.") A spell remains on the stack as a spell until it resolves (see rule 608, "Resolving Spells and Abilities"), is countered (see rule 701.5), or otherwise leaves the stack. For more information, see section 6, "Spells, Abilities, and Effects."

So you can counter an enchantment as long as it is on the stack (not resolved).

Lands are not spells and are not put on the stack, so they cannot be countered. Abilities however are put on the stack, but they can only be countered by spells which say they can counter abilities.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for the responses guys.....So I can counter an enchantment even though it is not summoned and an enchantment can use it's ability right away? –  user6932 Feb 19 at 13:35
1  
When you mean "not summoned" as in put onto the battlefield without casting it but for example by an effect (eg Academy Rector), you cannot counter it. When you cast an enchantment spell (pay its costs, put on the stack etc), it usually can be countered. –  Ivo Geersen Feb 19 at 14:04

It's not clear what you're asking about.
No, if you really do mean Enchantments.
Yes, if you mean Enchantment cards being cast.


A spell is a card or copy of a card on the stack is a spell.

111.1. A spell is a card on the stack. [...]

111.1a A copy of a spell is also a spell, [...]

The type of the card is of no consequence. If there's an Enchantment card on the stack (e.g. because it's currently being cast), it's a spell, it can be targeted as a spell, and it can be countered.

But you asked about "Enchantments". I'm not sure if you realize that "Enchantments" refers to "Enchantments cards or tokens on the battlefield". This is also what many people are asking about when they ask about countering Enchantments.

Cards (or tokens) on the battlefield aren't on the stack, so they aren't spells. They are permanents, and you would require Naturalize (for example) to get rid of one.

share|improve this answer

If it is being cast, yes. If it is one the field already, no. Pretty much everything is a spell before it becomes a permanent. When you cast an enchantment, it is put on the stack as an enchantment spell. When it resolves, it becomes an enchantment permanent on the field. Same with Creatures. The only type of card that can't be a spell is "land". Also of note is that cards are only spells when they are cast. If they are simply put onto the field, without being cast, they are never spells.

share|improve this answer
1  
abilities go on the stack and cannot be countered with a counter spell. this answer could be improved by mentioning that they can only be countered when cast and not while they are already on the battlefield. –  Colin D Feb 19 at 13:22
1  
Re "Pretty much everything is a spell before it becomes a permanent." Well that's not true. It's very common to place cards on the 'field without casting them. –  ikegami Feb 19 at 14:15
    
Thanks for the comments, answer has been updated. :) –  Andrew Koroluk Feb 19 at 20:31

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.