Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If Wheel of Sun and Moon is destroyed – for instance by a disenchant – does it go into the graveyard, or at the bottom of your library?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

First of all, you'd often put Wheel of Sun and Moon on your opponent, in which case there's nothing to worry about. It's only affecting cards that'd be put into their graveyard, and when it's destroyed it goes to yours.

A more likely similar example is Rest in Peace, which says "If a card or token would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, exile it instead." The Gatherer rulings mention exactly this scenario:

If Rest in Peace is destroyed by a spell, Rest in Peace will be exiled and then the spell will be put into its owner's graveyard.

That said, Wheel of Sun and Moon behaves in the same way. If for some reason you use it on yourself, and then destroy it, it will go to the bottom of your library.

Wheel of Sun and Moon creates a replacement effect, which applies as long as it's on the battlefield. When it would be destroyed (i.e. moved to the graveyard) it is still on the battlefield, so the replacement effect changes that to putting it on the bottom of your library.

It's only once it's left the battlefield that the replacement effect goes away, but by that time the effect has already been applied. Note that this means that, if you destroyed it with Disenchant, the Disenchant will go to your graveyard, because when you finish resolving the spell and move it from the stack to your graveyard, Wheel of Sun and Moon is now gone.

share|improve this answer
2  
+1 but I am not sure I agree with your first sentence. I would keep this on my sideboard and play it on myself when trying to counter mill decks. –  Colin D Feb 20 at 20:42
1  
@ColinD I did say "likely" not "always" or even "generally" - from what I've seen, decks that need their graveyards (flashback, reanimator, etc) are a lot more common than mill decks. But perhaps the OP's metagame is a bit different. –  Jefromi Feb 20 at 21:22
1  
WoSaM is used for more than just graveyard hate or mill protection; I've seen it used to interesting effect for combos, as well. (I mostly play EDH, though.) As a trivial example, WoSaM enchanting self, plus Doubling Season in play, leads to infinite use of Jace, Architect of Thought's final ability. –  Brian S Feb 20 at 21:34
    
Okay, I'll change it to "often" and avoid unnecessary debate about what to use it for. –  Jefromi Feb 21 at 4:12
1  
@BrianS, can you explain the Jace combo? How does that lead to multiple uses of his final ability? –  GendoIkari Feb 21 at 16:36

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.