Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Painter's Servant makes all cards the color of your choice. Mycosynth Lattice makes all cards colorless. What happens if they're both in play at the same time? Does the most recently played one take precedent?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

The most recently played one takes precidence:

From the rulings on painter's servent:

5/1/2008 While Painter's Servant is on the battlefield, an effect that changes an object's colors will overwrite Painter's Servant's effect. For example, casting Cerulean Wisps on a creature will turn it blue, regardless of the color chosen for Painter's Servant.

5/1/2008 If something affected by Painter's Servant is normally colorless, it will simply be the new color. It won't be both the new color and colorless.

In general continuous effects are applied in time stamp order (rule 613. Interaction of Continuous Effects). More info here:

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.