Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I have a creature or multiple creatures that have a heroic ability and I activate a sorcery or instant that has an effect to "creatures you control" will this trigger the heroic ability?

share|improve this question
Targeting requires the word "target". Note that some keyword abilities represent abilities that use the word "target", and note that Auras target what they will enchant when they're on the stack because the word "target" is used in the rules for casting Auras. – ikegami Feb 26 '14 at 6:18
@ikegami I suspected as much, although another related question arises, what about an overloaded spell? As a normal spell it obviously would trigger since it says target. If I'm understanding this correctly given though since definition of overload removes the word target from the card it would not trigger anymore. – Fr33dan Feb 26 '14 at 14:25
That's exactly right – ikegami Feb 26 '14 at 14:27
up vote 6 down vote accepted

No, those effects do not target a creature. The sorcery or instant card must specifically say that it targets a creature to trigger Heroic effects. Enchantment Aura cards also target a creature, although they may not say so explicitly on the card.

share|improve this answer
Ah yes, I suspected as much. My roommate got all angry with me for being "overly technical" but I think he's just upset I blew his deck strategy apart. – Fr33dan Feb 25 '14 at 22:15
This is exactly what makes Cyclonic Rift a staple card for RTR/Theros standard's blue devotion decks. Hexproof and protection care about targeting. Cyclonic Rift doesn't target. It just gets rid of everything. Everything. (except lands) – doppelgreener Feb 25 '14 at 22:44
@JonathanHobbs Cyclonic Rift doesn't target only when it is overloaded, just to be clear – bengoesboom Feb 26 '14 at 0:14
@bengoesboom Right, yes. :) Good correction! – doppelgreener Feb 26 '14 at 0:22
Clarification: Enchantment Aura spells target a creature; Enchantment Aura permanents do not. – Brian S Feb 26 '14 at 14:50

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.