Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can a thief steal at level 1 given that failing to steal causes the thief to lose a level?

share|improve this question
up vote 37 down vote accepted

The Official Munchkin FAQ says Yes.

Q. What happens to a Level 1 Thief who fails an attempt to steal? Does he die?

A. Nothing happens to him. You can't go below Level 1. (Beware the Level 1 Thief – he literally has nothing to lose!)

share|improve this answer

We have played it this way. I've not found anything in the rules that indicates that you need to be able to cover the cost of failing before attempting the theft. Also, this is probably the best time to use the Theft ability since your level can never go below 1.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.