Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

There are some times in Ascension when I managed to empty my deck by drawing all the cards in it and also all the cards in the discard piles. It happened once or twice that I played a card that makes me draw another card. Are there special rules to cover this case, or do I simply ignore the drawing effect of the card?

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

You simply skip the draw part of the instruction.

According to Justin Gary, one of the designers of the game:

If you have to draw a card and none are available in your deck or discard pile, you simply skip the draw.

share|improve this answer
Simple and clean. Thanks for the answer :) – Morwenn Feb 26 '14 at 15:07

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.