Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Damage to Protean Hydra is prevented by removing +1/+1 counters from it. The card states:

Whenever a +1/+1 counter is removed from Protean Hydra, put two +1/+1 counters on it at the beginning of the next end step.

So if a -1/-1 counter is placed on it, it cancels out one +1/+1 counter. Is the counter still considered to be 'removed' or does it just disappear?

Main Question: If Protean Hydra has a -1/-1 counter placed on it (say for example by Contagion Clasp), will it receive 2 +1/+1 counters?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes, it is removed and you get the EOT trigger. Per Gatherer:

If a -1/-1 counter is put on Protean Hydra while it has +1/+1 counters on it, that -1/-1 counter and a +1/+1 counter will be removed from it as a state-based action. This will cause Protean Hydra's last ability to trigger.

share|improve this answer
Thanks for the quick response. I was leaning towards this but wasn't positive. – ovaltein Feb 26 '14 at 23:47


704.5r If a permanent has both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter on it, N +1/+1 and N -1/-1 counters are removed from it, where N is the smaller of the number of +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it.

There is actually a time where both the +1/+1 and the -1/-1 counters are on the Hydra. They are both removed the next time Stated-Based Actions are performed (State-based actions are performed right before a player would get priority. e.g. after a spell resolves, but not during the resolution of a spell).

share|improve this answer
State-based actions are performed right before a player would get priority. – Rainbolt Feb 27 '14 at 13:59
So if there were a card like "Put a -1/-1 counter on target creature. Then gain X life, where X i the number of counters on that creature", then you would get the life from both the +1/+1 counter and the -1/-1 counter, because they are both there at the time. Correct? – GendoIkari Feb 27 '14 at 19:43
@GendoIkari Yes, that's correct. A real example would be the modular mechanic. See the ruling on Arcbound Ravager – Pablo Feb 28 '14 at 7:20
@GendoIkari, Correct. Here's an another scenario: Say you have a creature with a single +1/+1 counter with a total P/T of 1/1 and you gave it a -1/-1 counter. It would go to the graveyard, and Undying wouldn't trigger. – ikegami Feb 28 '14 at 15:59

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.