Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Two investigators were in the same location in Arkham. The first investigator drew an encounter 'A monster and gate appear!'. He resolved that encounter by fighting the monster and then getting drawn through the gate. The second investigator also got drawn through the gate before having an encounter.

We also said that the two investigators did not have an Other World encounter as they were 'delayed' as they were drawn in to the gate. This ended up with the second investigator not having any encounters on this particular turn.

Was that the correct ruling?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Delayed has no bearing on whether an investigator has an Other World encounter or not.

However the gate takes precedence. Both investigators should have been drawn through the gate first, then the monster appears.

From the Dunwich Horror FAQ:

Q: When a location card says a gate and a monster appear, which appearance is resolved first?

A: The gate appears first, and any investigators at the location are drawn through the gate. Then the monster appears. Monsters that appear as a result of these encounters stay on the board, count against the monster limit, can go to the Outskirts, etc., as normal.

And from the errata section of the same document:

Arkham Encounters

(pages 8-9 in the first printing of the Arkham Horror rules) If an investigator is drawn through a gate that appears as a result of an encounter (such as “A gate appears!” or “A gate and a monster appear!”), then he is delayed, just as if he had been drawn through a gate in the Mythos Phase.

share|improve this answer
so potentially, the investigators would have 3 other world encounters? – link64 Mar 1 '14 at 21:38
@link64 - yes, that's correct. – Pat Ludwig Mar 1 '14 at 22:25

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.