Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When playing with the Wild West Show expansion and Dorothy Rage is in play, can you force a player to play a Bang against themselves (or any other card where the effect can be applied to another player, distance-based or otherwise)?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

From a post by the designer of Bang!, Emiliano Sciarra:

... you cannot play Bang! on yourself ...

Also, this official ruling from the FAQ for the Wild West Show expansion

The action you describe must be possible for the player

By combination of these two rulings, Dorothy Rage cannot force a player to play a self-targeting "Bang!".

share|improve this answer
To clarify you can only force a player to make a legal play so they can be forced to target themselves with any card that can legal target themselves. And the only card that you can't target yourself with is a bang. – Joe W Mar 4 '14 at 22:18

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.