Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a Rageblood Shaman that says:

Other Minotaur creatures you control get +1/+1 and have trample.

If I attack with it and multiple other creatures any my opponent blocks it and destroys it do my other creatures still have +1/+1 and trample when their damage is dealt?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

I think I might have found my own answer writing this ask but I'll post it so others can comment if I'm wrong and learn if I'm right:

Yes given rule 510.2 which says:

510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. No player has the chance to cast spells or activate abilities between the time combat damage is assigned and the time it’s dealt. This is a change from previous rules.

If combat damage is done simultaneously then the damage is done to the Rageblood Shaman at the same time that the other creatures affected by the Shaman are dealing damage, thus it has not been destroyed yet and the effect still applies.

share|improve this answer
3  
An exception is when your shaman is blocked by a creature with first strike for example –  Ivo Beckers Mar 8 at 15:27
    
That's correct (though it's rule 510.2, you have a typo in your link text). In fact the combat damage is dealt first, and then only later, immediately prior to the action described in rule 510.3, do creatures actually die if they've received lethal damage. (see rules 116.5 and 704.3) –  David Z Mar 8 at 20:53
1  
Also, this answer only works if the Shaman is killed by the combat damage itself; if your opponent simply blocks it and kills it with, e.g., Divine Verdict or the like, then it's out of play well before your remaining minotaurs deal damage. –  Steven Stadnicki Mar 9 at 1:09

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.