Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I have more than one copy of Merrow Commerce in play, they both trigger during my end step. Can I take actions after the first one resolves, but before the second one does? I'm thinking of something like tapping my Silvergill Douser and Merfolk Thaumaturgist to pick off an opponent's creatures, then having them untap again.

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Well yes you can. These are triggered abilities

603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as "[Trigger condition], [effect]," and begin with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." They can also be expressed as "[When/Whenever/At] [trigger event], [effect].

Multiple triggers are put on the stack, and after one resolves, you get priority as the active player.

116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.

share|improve this answer
Keep in mind Merrow Commerce is different then cards like Seedborn Muse or Prophet of Kruphix, because Merrow Commerce is a triggered ability, and as noted by Ivo, any time a triggered ability goes on the stack, players have a chance to respond before the ability resolves. Seedborn Muse and Prophet of Kruphix on the other hand are static abilities, and thus do not stack, unlike Merrow Commerce which is a triggered ability and thus will stack. – Waterseas Mar 11 '14 at 18:40

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.