Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I have say an Archetype of Imagination:

Creatures you control have flying.

Creatures your opponents control lose flying and can't have or gain flying.

and a Warden of Evos Isle:

Creature spells with flying you cast cost 1 less to cast.

Will a card that does not normally have flying receive the cost reduction or do they not gain flying until they reach the battlefield?

share|improve this question
Short answer: "Creatures" means "creature permanents". "Creature permanents" and "creature spells" are mutually exclusive, so the abilities affect different objects. No cost reduction. – ikegami Mar 14 '14 at 18:01
up vote 7 down vote accepted

No, Archetype of Imagination does not interact with Warden of Evos Isle.

When Archetype, or any other card, refers to "creatures", it means creature permanents. So it does not affect creature cards or creature spells while they are in any other zone besides the battlefield. The relevant rule here is 109.2:

If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn't include the word "card," "spell," "source," or "scheme," it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield.

share|improve this answer
Do you "control" cards not on the battlefield? In Yu-Gi-Oh, that would be another criterion to show why it doesn't work. Not sure about the definition of control in MTG. – scenia Mar 18 '14 at 13:59
Yes, you control spells you have cast, but they are not permanents – murgatroid99 Mar 18 '14 at 14:07
What about in your hand? Do you start "controlling" them once they hit the stack or as soon as you get them in the first place? – scenia Mar 18 '14 at 14:08
No, you don't control cards in your hand (control only makes sense in zones where multiple players can have cards at the same time), but that doesn't matter here because when you cast a spell it goes on the stack before you determine the cost. – murgatroid99 Mar 18 '14 at 14:11

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.