Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

From the Dunwich Horror rule book:

For each monster returned to the cup in this fashion, raise the terror level by one. In addition, if there are fewer than three Dunwich Horror tokens on the Dunwich Horror track, add one Dunwich Horror token to the track.

Does this mean if three monsters move onto a vortex in one monster movement phase that three Dunwich Horror tokens are added (if none are there) or just one?

share|improve this question
up vote 1 down vote accepted

The wording specifies that this action is in addition to raising the terror level.

The rules does not state that you add one Dunwich Horror token for each monster added. After increasing the terror level, if there a fewer than 3 tokens, add one token only

share|improve this answer
Do you have a source for this ruling? I think the issue is that the wording in the rule book is ambiguous (that being said, I do interpret it the same way as you) – bengoesboom Mar 21 '14 at 3:02
No source... I scoured the FAQ and couldnt find a corresponding ruling for this particular rule – link64 Mar 21 '14 at 4:12

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.