Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Face the Hydra is a special game with special rules which can be found here.

I know that a spell that deals direct damage to a player cast on the hydra will deal the damage to one of its head. The same applies to trample damage, and so ons, for damages.

But is the hydra considered a player?

For instance, I have a creature that gets +1/+1 counters each time it deals damage to a player. Would that ever be triggered since you attack its heads directly? What if that creature was unblockable?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 2 down vote accepted

is the hydra considered a player?

Yes, there is a player as normal.

For instance, I have a creature that gets +1/+1 counters each time it deals damage to a player. Would that ever be triggered since you attack its heads directly?

Creatures attacking heads directly deal damages to the heads they attack.

Creatures not attacking heads directly attack the player as normal. However, damage that would be dealt to the player is dealt to a head instead. As such, you never actually deal any damage to the player.

In both cases, the attackers deal damage to the heads. The heads are creatures, not players. The ability in question would not trigger.

What if that creature was unblockable?

It doesn't make any difference.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for the answer, but the rules say "You can attack Heads directly with your creatures. Any number of creatures can attack a single Head" –  Skwal Mar 21 at 16:29
    
Sorry, I missed that one. Updated. –  ikegami Mar 21 at 16:41

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.