Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Lets say I have a Suture Priest creature that says "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may gain 1 life." and I currently have all 4 of them in the battlefield. Then I cast another creature and : Do I get 1 or 4 life? Does that effect trigger for every priest or just once? thanks for help

share|improve this question

You get four lifes in total: one when each of the four triggered abilities resolves.

Since you have four copies of Suture Priest on the battlefield, you have four copies of the triggered ability. Each time the event a triggered ability is indicating happens, it triggers. Since you have four copies, it trigger four times.

603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers.

Since there is no rule that stops several copies of the same triggered ability to trigger at the same time, they all work.

share|improve this answer
Re "You get four life", More precisely, you get 1 life four times. There's no actual "stacking" (in the OP's meaning of the word). If you think in terms of "stacking", you're thinking about it wrong. (It's also confusing, since "stack" means something completely different in MTG.) – ikegami Mar 23 '14 at 4:56

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.