Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The relevant moves are as follows. England: Denmark -> Kiel Sweden Support Denmark Hold North Sea Support Denmark Hold Germany: Berlin -> Kiel Skagerrack -> Denmark Blatic Sea Support Skagerrack -> Denmark Helgoland Bight Support Skagerrack -> Denmark

Does the support fail for Denmark because Denmark attempted to move to Kiel, even though it bounces.

share|improve this question
Yes, Denmark is ousted by Skagerrak. A unit order to move invalidates the orders supporting it to hold. See Dan Tilken's answer below. – Forget I was ever here Mar 24 '14 at 3:35
up vote 4 down vote accepted

The support fails. From the bottom right of page 7 in the rules.

A unit not ordered to move can be supported by a support order that only mentions its province.


A unit ordered to move can only be supported by a support order that matches the move the unit is trying to make.

share|improve this answer
You should clarify (emphasize) that Skagerrak doesn't bounce, it moves to Denmark because the rule you quoted specifically disallows Denmark from being supported holding while it is attempting to move. – Forget I was ever here Mar 24 '14 at 3:26

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.