Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I have the following in play:

  • Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth

    Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types.

  • Kormus Bell

    All Swamps are 1/1 black creatures that are still lands.

  • Torpor Orb

    Creatures entering the battlefield don't cause abilities to trigger.

And I play Dark Depths:

Dark Depths enters the battlefield with ten ice counters on it.

{3}: Remove an ice counter from Dark Depths.

When Dark Depths has no ice counters on it, sacrifice it. If you do, put a legendary 20/20 black Avatar creature token with flying and indestructible named Marit Lage onto the battlefield.

What I am hoping happens is: The Urborg makes my Dark Depths also a swamp, so Kormus Bell makes it a creature, so then Torpor Orb makes its comes into play ability not trigger, so the Dark Depths will not enter play with any counters, allowing me to immediately sacrifice for 20/20 Marit Lage. Any reason that would not work?

share|improve this question
1  
"Dark Depths enters the battlefield with ten ice counters on it." is equivalent to "As Dark Depths enters the battlefield, place ten ice counters on it." It's a static ability that creates a replacement effect that redefines what it means for this card to be moved to the battlefield. –  ikegami Mar 31 at 2:40

1 Answer 1

up vote 12 down vote accepted

It won't work. Dark Depths' "Dark Depths enters the battlefield with ten ice counters on it." ability is not a triggered ability; you can tell because it doesn't use the words "when," "whenever," or "at," which are part of the definition of "triggered ability" in the Comprehensive Rules:

112.3c Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as "[Trigger condition], [effect]," and include (and usually begin with) the word "when," "whenever," or "at." Whenever the trigger event occurs, the ability is put on the stack the next time a player would receive priority and stays there until it’s countered, it resolves, or it otherwise leaves the stack. See rule 603, "Handling Triggered Abilities."

603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as "[Trigger condition], [effect]," and begin with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." They can also be expressed as "[When/Whenever/At] [trigger event], [effect]."

Instead, the ability is just a plain old static ability (specifically, a replacement ability, but that doesn't matter here). Thus, Torpor Orb won't stop the ice counters from being placed on your Legendary Snow Creature Land — Swamp, and your combo won't work.

Stick with Vampire Hexmage.

share|improve this answer
7  
Or Thespian's Stage. –  GendoIkari Mar 31 at 0:38
    
haven't seen Thespian's Stage before, that card is sweet! –  chiliNUT Mar 31 at 2:47

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.