Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Evacuation returns all creatures to owners hands. Ambush Commander turns all forests into creatures. Would that mean that Evacuation would return all forests to their owners hand?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Ambush Commander only affects its controller's Forests, but otherwise, yes. Evacuation will return them to their owners' hands.

This doesn't come down to a single rules citation, but ultimately Creature Lands still count as creatures due to this rule:

608.2h If an effect refers to certain characteristics, it checks only for the value of the specified characteristics, regardless of any related ones an object may also have.

Example: An effect that reads “Destroy all black creatures” destroys a white-and-black creature, but one that reads “Destroy all nonblack creatures” doesn’t.

It does not matter that they are 'Creature Lands', the spell just cares that they are creatures.

share|improve this answer
Your citation is accurate; I've edited the language to be more certain and confident. – doppelgreener Apr 4 '14 at 3:29

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.