Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We need an impartial explanation on how to use this card "the SYCOPHANT". The card states " Any other player that uses the take 1 grain action space must first pay you one food. In addition, you receive 1 food from the supply, even when you take the grain yourself.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Whenever anyone takes the "Take 1 Grain" action space, they must first pay the Sycophant 1 food. After receiving this payment, the Sycophant then (also) receives 1 food from the supply.

When the Sycophant uses the "Take 1 Grain" action space, they (also) receive 1 food from the supply.

Source: compendium v9.0

share|improve this answer

who intrepreted this card this way? For myself i understand it that the person who takes a grain must first pay a food to the player with the sycophant card. The owner of the card will get a grain themselves out of the supply when they take a grain for themselves. It's very clear to me. I challenge this. Is this a tournament rule ?

share|improve this answer
    
What are you challenging? The card is clear: "In addition" so it's on top of the payment, made even more clear with "even when you take the grain yourself" clarifying that this applies even when you take it and not another player. –  Alex In Paris Apr 10 at 8:27
    
yes exactly. In addition to the other player paying a food, the additional benefit of the card is that even when you take a grain for yourself you get paid a food from the supply. Anyone else agree with this intrepretation? –  user7350 Apr 10 at 23:49
    
You can clearly see that the answer is "no". As I explained, "even" implies that that extra grain is not just for when you take the action. –  Alex In Paris Apr 11 at 9:19
    
to make that true , there would have to be a period after " you recieve one food from supply" BUT since it's a comma, it' s a continuation of the same thought. –  user7350 Apr 13 at 13:49
    
The second sentence would have been simpler: You receive 1 food from the supply when you take the grain yourself. –  Alex In Paris Apr 14 at 12:22

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.