Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Gild says "Exile target creature. Put a colorless artifact token named Gold onto the battlefield. It has "Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool."". I assume that that means that the token goes into play under your control (assuming you were the one who cast Gild) and not the person who's creature you exiled?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 8 down vote accepted

Yes, the token comes into play under the control of the player who played Gild. This is specified by rule 110.2a:

If an effect instructs a player to put an object onto the battlefield, that object enters the battlefield under that player's control unless the effect states otherwise.

Gild's effect instructs you (the player who controls the spell) to put the token into play, so it comes into play under your control.

share|improve this answer
3  
Rapid Hybridization is a good example where the token goes to the other player, showing how it's explicitly stated. "Destroy target creature. It can't be regenerated. That creature's controller puts a 3/3 green Frog Lizard creature token onto the battlefield." –  Jefromi Apr 8 at 17:49
    
It's also an explicit Oracle ruling: You will control the token, no matter who controls the target creature. –  ire_and_curses Apr 8 at 23:11
    
Yes, it is, but the rules are sufficient to know what happens. –  murgatroid99 Apr 8 at 23:35
1  
@murgatroid99 The big reason to mention the rulings is that a lot of people don't think to look there, and it'll help them get quick answers in the future, rather than having to post a question here or try to search/understand the comp rules. –  Jefromi Apr 9 at 0:57

Not quite.

It enters the battlefield under the control of Gild's controller.

110.2a. If an effect instructs a player to put an object onto the battlefield, that object enters the battlefield under that player's control unless the effect states otherwise.

That's Gild's controller when it resolved.

By default, that's the player who cast Gild.

By default, that's the player who owns Gild.

So by default, it'll come under control of the player who owns Gild, but as you can see, there are some variables.

share|improve this answer
2  
A couple of technicalities: there are no triggered abilities in this scenario. Gild doesn't enter the battlefield because it's a sorcery. And I'm pretty sure that there's no way to change the controller of an effect of a spell once the spell starts resolving. Really, the only variable here is the controller of the spell when it resolves. –  murgatroid99 Apr 8 at 17:56
    
@murgatroid99, Yeah, I seem to have seriously misread the card. Fixed. –  ikegami Apr 10 at 17:12
    
(And while I know you two both know it, of course the controller of the spell could be swapped on the stack by, e.g., Perplexing Chimera; so 'when it resolves' is still necessary text.) –  Steven Stadnicki Apr 10 at 20:58

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.