Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have all sorts of old magic cards, for example m12, X ,vintage, m13, I'm just curious if I can add any of these cards to my Commander deck that I have now ,or would it be illegal??

share|improve this question

Yes, you can use any cards you could in Vintage (except for the banned list).

See the rules on mtgcommander.net:

Commander is played with vintage legal cards, with some exceptions:

  • cards are legal as of their set's prerelease

  • The following is the official banned list for commander games. These cards (and others like them) should not be played without prior agreement from the other players in the game. ...[banned list]...

It'd be pretty silly to have to build 100-card decks with limited colors without being able to use a nice large card pool! And if you look at commander deck lists people have published online, it should be pretty clear that a lot of the really popular cards are old ones. (Not that M12 and M13 are really that old...)

share|improve this answer
1  
It is also worth mentioning that commander is a casual format. So the ban list is nothing more than a suggestion of cards to avoid for the games to be enjoyable. If your playgroup thrives on playing degenerate combo commanders then by all means ignore the ban list. It is not like anyone should tell you what to play in casual formats. – Neil Meyer Apr 3 at 13:02

It is also worth mentioning that there is sets that are banned from competitive play that are in fact perfectly fine for commander play. Things like the Collectors Edition and World Champions Decks

share|improve this answer
4  
This seems to be more of a comment on the existing answer, not an answer that can stand on its own. – SevenSidedDie Apr 4 at 0:56

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.