Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can someone please explain the ability of Survival of the Fittest and the stack?

Let say I have Survival of the Fittest out, and I have 1 creature in my hand, and I have priority. Assuming I have unlimited mana, can I keep discarding a creature card and search for a creature card without an opponent casting any instant spell?

In other words, I will discard a creature card and have not pass priority, can an opponent cast instants like disenchant on the survival to stop me to continue searching? If an opponent can cast disenchant before priority was pass, would I still need another creature card in my hand to be able to discard and search again?

I am unclear of how this would work.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

NB: Survival of the Fittest has an activated ability, not a triggered ability. Triggered abilities always use the words "When", "Whenever", or "At".

You must discard a creature card (and pay green) as an activation cost in order to put the ability on the stack. It now goes on the stack and your opponent gets priority before it resolves. So they could destroy Survival of The Fittest before you get to search and add a card to your hand.

You still get to do your search and add the card, but obviously you cannot now use the ability again.

You can discard as many cards to it as you already have in your hand while retaining priority and not allowing your opponent to respond. However, they will have a chance to respond before you're allowed to tutor up the new ones.

share|improve this answer
    
From reading an article on priority and the stack, an example was given: –  andylau16 Apr 30 at 16:29
    
Player a would cast Ancestral Recall, Player B would counter it, Player A use Mystical Tutor to search for cancel and put it on top of his library, then Player A plays Brainstorm to get Cancel in his hand, and counter Player B Counter Spell. –  andylau16 Apr 30 at 16:36
    
If that is the case, wouldn't discarding a creature card and searching for a creature card would resolved allowing me to get a creature card in my hand, then I can play it again before my opponenet cast disenchant? In other words, when I discard, my ability is on top of the stack, that would resolved and then I can put another survival ability ontop of that stack and keep on going before the disenchant would resolve? Is this correct? –  andylau16 Apr 30 at 16:37
2  
Your first Survival is on the bottom of the stack, Disenchant goes above it and will resolve first. If you had a second creature you could discard, you could then put that on top of disenchant and keep on survivaling until there are not more creatures in your library, keeping disenchant trapped on the stack. –  Affe Apr 30 at 16:45
    
Thanks for clarifying that Affe! The only thing I'm unclear of now is when it talks about priority. It says that I can play as many spells or abilities before I pass priority. Once I pass priority, then my oponenet can response. Am I missing the point with Priority and Passinbg Priority and what it really mean? If so, can you please clarify? Thanks. –  andylau16 Apr 30 at 18:30

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.