Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Let's say on the board is a creature with toughness 6. I reduce the toughness of this creature by 3 until end of turn. After this spell resolves, I cast a burn spell which does 3 dmg to that creature. Now the creature has 0 toughness and dies but what is the cause of death? And how does this interact with regeneration? As fair as I understand the rules, if a creatures dies because of 0 toughness it cannot be regenerated because its not lethal damage nor a destruction event that causes death.

share|improve this question
    
If you read your question carefully, you will see that you answered it just by asking it. –  Pow-Ian May 1 at 12:21
    
Since the damage from my burn spell actually causes the "lethal" damage (because its toughness is reduced by 3 until end of turn) one could assume cause of death is lethal damage and so it can be regenerated. –  morpheus05 May 1 at 12:25
    
Yep. That is exactly it. Althought I would not say one can assume it is simply fact that the burn spell does three damage to a creature with 3 toughness, so that is lethal damage. The only way they could not be regenerated is if managed to reduce the toughness through -1/-1 counter or some other way to 0. Then as a state based action, it would be moved to the grave yard. –  Pow-Ian May 1 at 12:27
1  
not an duplicate, but definitely related: boardgames.stackexchange.com/q/11367/3128 –  Colin D May 1 at 13:45
2  
Damage does not reduce the toughness (though damage from sources with wither or infect can give -1/-1 counters which do reduce toughness). –  ikegami May 1 at 14:39

1 Answer 1

up vote 9 down vote accepted

If you reduce a creature's toughness from 6 to 3 you just treat it as a creature of toughness 3. So dealing 3 damage to it can be regenerated. The 3 damage does not reduce the toughness to 0. It will still be a creature with toughness 3 with 3 marked damage on it that will usually die but can be saved with regeneration.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.