Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm not sure that this is possible with current cards, but what happens if a card such as Tarmogoyf loses all abilities? A quick Gatherer search wasn't able to find any card that would make creatures lose abilities unless they also defined a new power and toughness for those creatures. But I see no reason in the rules that such an effect couldn't exist ("Target creature loses all abilities until end of turn").

Would Tarmagoyf become a 0/0 in this case, because a number not defined is treated as 0? Or would it possibly be a 0/1, because the printed toughness on the card is "*+1", and only the "*" part is undefined? What about a card like Boneyard Wurm, would it just become 0/0 (and thus die)?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 15 down vote accepted

This question is hypothetical and not covered by the rules. All current cards which cause a creature to lose all abilities also set the power/toughness of the creature, or cause it to no longer be a creature making the power/toughness irrelevant.

It's a safe bet that loses all abilities cards are designed that way to avoid this conundrum.

share|improve this answer
    
It's not clear from that rules quote that this is correct. "If the ability needs to use a number that can’t be determined, use 0..." But this isn't a case of the ability not being able to determine the number. In this case, the ability doesn't exist. –  GendoIkari May 2 at 15:57
1  
@ghoppe I think we all agree that you can't determine the value of the asterisk. But with the ability removed, 208.2a can't apply - there's no ability for it to apply to - so it seems that there's nothing here to determine what the asterisk means. So is there another rule that explains how to determine the value of a placeholder like the asterisk when there's no ability? –  Jefromi May 2 at 16:11
    
@Jefromi Yes it took me a minute to consider the argument, and I agree. I've changed my answer. –  ghoppe May 2 at 16:14
    
@Jefromi It is interesting that 208.2a and 208.2b both say that the creature "may" have an ability that sets the stats, but no mention of what to do when they don't have that ability. I think their intent was to say that such a creature will either have one or the other at all times. –  GendoIkari May 2 at 16:16
    
I'm not super good at old cards, and I don't know how to search on Gatherer for an asterisk in power/toughness - were there any of those guys early on? I'm sure the current rules were written with the knowledge that this can't happen, but I'm not as sure about the early lose-abilities card designs. (Humility isn't exactly a poster child for avoiding nasty rules interactions...) –  Jefromi May 2 at 16:49
show 3 more comments

There have been no printed cards that remove static abilities without also setting the power and toughness (Snakeform, Ovinize) or changing the card to no longer be a creature (Soul Sculptor) as stated in ghoppe's answer.

Tarmogoyf's ability which sets its power and toughness is in a special class of static abilities called characteristic-defining abilities [CR 604.3] which function in all zones and even outside of the game. Any hypothetical card which exclusively removed static abilities would need a special ruling on its interaction with these type of abilities.

Asterisks * representing power and/or toughness are treated as 0 (even within calculations) in the case of static abilities that create replacement effects [208.2b] and also characteristic defining abilities when the value of the asterisk cannot be determined.

In addition to these definitions, Gatherer also treats asterisks as zeros with constants added continuing to be added. To find Tarmogoyf in Gatherer by Power and Toughness alone, one must set the search parameters to Power=0 and Toughness=1.

It is reasonable to assume that any future ruling would be consistent with this and set completely undefined asterisks to zero, although this is just speculation on my part.

If we assume that the above proves true then we can make the following conclusions regarding the specific creatures mentioned in the question. - If Tarmogoyf somehow lost his ability which defines the value of *, then each * would be taken as equal to 0 so that it would become 0 / 1+0 => 0/1. - Boneyard Wurm would become a 0/0 and thus under [CR 704.5f], be put into its owners graveyard. (Of course, once in the graveyard its power and toughness would be reset based on its characteristic-defining ability)

The rulings for Nightmare help clarify some of the interactions with asterisks in power/toughness.

If you control 0 swamps, then the Nightmare has 0 toughness and will be put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action right before the next player gains priority.

Nightmare's power and toughness changes as the number of Swamps you control changes.

The ability that defines Nightmare’s power and toughness works everywhere, not just on the battlefield.

EDIT

[CR 208.2a] in reference to Asterisks in Power and Toughness

This ability functions everywhere, even outside the game. If the ability needs to use a number that can’t be determined, including inside a calculation, use 0 instead of that number.

Example: Lost Order of Jarkeld has power and toughness each equal to 1+*. It has the abilities “As Lost Order of Jarkeld enters the battlefield, choose an opponent” and “Lost Order of Jarkeld’s power and toughness are each equal to 1 plus the number of creatures the chosen player controls.” While Lost Order of Jarkeld isn’t on the battlefield, there won’t be a chosen player. Its power and toughness will each be equal to 1 plus 0, so it’s 1/1.

share|improve this answer
    
It's not clear if the undefined quantity that would become zero would be * or *+1, since the rules don't explain anywhere what we must do if a sum appears where the thoughness should be. That's why it is unclear if Tarmogoyf would be a 0/0 or a 0/1. That's why this situation is currently not covered by the rules. –  Pablo May 6 at 8:08
2  
"Asterisks * representing power and/or toughness are treated as 0 (even within calculations) when the value of the asterisk cannot be determined." Can you find a rule for this? I don't think there is one. –  GendoIkari May 6 at 13:24
    
I guess I should have quoted the one rule that was under most contention. The comprehensive rules are very clear that what I said is correct. I will post the example within the CR that further explains the asterisk rule. –  JRaccoon May 6 at 21:15
1  
@JRaccoon The rule you've quoted was discussed on the other question too. The issue is that the rule is explaining how the ability containing the asterisk works. But we're talking about a situation where the ability has been removed. 208.2a is talking about how a certain kind of ability functions... but now there is no such ability, so 208.2a doesn't apply any more than it applies to your Grizzly Bears that never had an ability like that in the first place. –  Jefromi May 6 at 21:23
1  
@JRaccoon Now, if there actually were cards that removed abilities without setting power/toughness, I'm sure that they would fix the rules such that the asterisk was 0 as you've said, and it wouldn't be a hard fix to make. But the rules as written don't actually say "here's how you figure out what value an asterisk has". They talk about how the ability works. –  Jefromi May 6 at 21:26
show 5 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.