Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

So this came up in a game I was playing today. I had an Athreos, God of Passage with enough devotion that it was a creature, and I cast another (it makes sense, I swear). I chose to sacrifice the newcomer.

This will trigger the remaining Athreos and I will return the dead god to my hand unless my opponent pays three, correct? Athreos was a creature when it died, and remained so after because its type-setting ability only applies on the battlefield.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

Yes, the ability of the God that remains on the battlefield will trigger. When you play the second copy of Athreos, you will control 2 of them. Then, when state based effects are checked, by rule 704.5k, you have to choose one to keep and move the other to the graveyard. This triggers the ability of the one still on the battlefield.

share|improve this answer
3  
Technically, the other Athreos is just moved to the graveyard, not sacrificed, and so (for example) Savra, Queen of the Golgari won't trigger. –  jwodder May 3 at 22:00

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.