Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Quick Diplomacy question.

If a country has had all armies and fleets destroyed but still have a home supply centre that hasn't been taken are they still in the game ?

I believe yes but not sure. Cheers

share|improve this question
Even if it wasn't a home supply center they are technically not eliminated from the game. They could be included in a draw despite having no pieces on the board (and no way of getting more). You aren't eliminated until you have zero centers during a winter phase. – bwarner May 5 '14 at 13:31
up vote 6 down vote accepted

The quote below is part of a rule. So yes, I would play it like you suggest, because your situation matches this rule in the strictest sense (one center versus zero units).

If he/she has more centers than units, he/she may build units by placing them, one in each unoccupied supply center, in his/her home country only (provided that such supply centers are still under his control).

share|improve this answer
Yep that's the section I was looking at. Thanks – Diplom May 5 '14 at 20:10

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.