Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Dominion, what happens when you Ambassador (Seaside) a Hovel (Dark Ages)?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

Nothing happens at all.

There's a (likely unofficial) rules clarification on Ambassador's Dominion Strategy wiki:

If you reveal a card which is not in the Supply, such as Spoils, Madman, Mercenary, or Shelters, Ambassador does nothing.

The same article also quotes an official FAQ clarification:

If the pile for the chosen card runs out, some players may not get one; cards are given out in turn order starting with the next player.

Since Hovels are not present in the Supply, you cannot return your hovels there. Further, nobody can gain them: since they aren't available in the Supply, they are effectively perpetually out of stock.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.