Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Increasing Vengeance says

Copy target instant or sorcery spell you control. If Increasing Vengeance was cast from a graveyard, copy that spell twice instead. You may choose new targets for the copies.

If I flash back an Increasing Vengeance, and then I copy it (possibly with another increasing Vengeance) does the copy still make two copies, or does it only make one because spell copies aren't cast?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

No, it will not make 2 copies. See the ruling on Increasing Vengeance.

When Increasing Vengeance resolves, it creates one or two copies of a spell. You control each of the copies. Those copies are created on the stack, so they're not "cast." Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won't trigger. The copies will then resolve like normal spells, after players get a chance to cast spells and activate abilities.

The copies were not cast from the graveyard, so the replacement effect doesn't apply.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.