Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, the Spectre monster card's check to defeat says:

Combat 11 OR Wisdom Divine 7

The card text says (in part):

If the check to defeat does not have the Magic trait, the Spectre is undefeated.

Does this mean that I must somehow magically augment my Wisdom to defeat the Spectre, or does that clause only apply to a Combat check? Will my Wisdom only scare it away for a while, or can I defeat it permanently? Is there any way to add the Magic trait to a Wisdom check?

I didn't find any mention of this in the errata, but maybe I didn't look hard enough.

share|improve this question
As an aside, careful when you encounter the Siren. Defeating it actually IS a straight Wisdom check, no Magic trait required. For a while my friends and I were defeating it with Combat checks until we started diligently paying attention to the monsters that came up... – generalcrispy May 16 '14 at 20:16
up vote 3 down vote accepted

If there is a way to augment a Wisdom check with the Magic trait, I'm unaware of it except with using Divine spells or items.

Weapons and/or spells with the Magic trait work for the Combat check.

Either way, you cannot use a straight Wisdom (or straight Divine) check to defeat a Spectre; as it's Incorporeal, it must be defeated by magical means.

share|improve this answer
There is the power of the cleric Kyra ("Add 1d8 with the Magic trait to your check to defeat a bane with the Undead trait."). – Petr Hudeček Jul 14 at 12:09

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.