Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, the Collapsed Ceiling barrier card says in part:

If you fail the check to defeat by 4 or more, you are 
dealt 1 Combat damage that may not be reduced.

The check to defeat is 8. Does the ceiling do damage if my check total is less than 12 or if it's less than 4?

Please help! My domestic tranquility is at stake!

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Neither. The ceiling does damage if your check total is 4 or less.

...
check total = 3: Failed by 5 (failed by 4 or more): Failed with damage
check total = 4: Failed by 4 (failed by 4 or more): Failed with damage
check total = 5: Failed by 3 (failed by less than 4): Failed without damage
check total = 6: Failed by 2 (failed by less than 4): Failed without damage
check total = 7: Failed by 1 (failed by less than 4): Failed without damage
check total = 8: Passed the check
check total = 9: Passed the check
check total = 10: Passed the check
check total = 11: Passed the check
check total = 12: Passed the check[1]
...

Guessing from the little I know of the card, you're trying to dig your way through a room with a collapsed ceiling.

  • If you roll 8 or more, you succeeded.
  • If you roll 5, 6 or 7, you didn't make it through yet.
  • If you roll 4 or less, you didn't make it through yet, and you hurt yourself in the process (dropped a rock on your foot, stabbed yourself on a piece of rebar, pulled a muscle, etc).

  1. If your total is 12, you didn't fail the check, by 4 or by any other amount.
share|improve this answer
    
Bingo. +1 for chart. –  generalcrispy May 16 at 14:15
    
The Collapsed Ceiling barrier, if you fail the check, stays on top of the location check until you or another player who moves into the location can pass the check. –  generalcrispy May 16 at 18:54
    
This is as I argued, but my spouse wouldn't believe me without another opinion. –  Argyle May 16 at 19:27
1  
@Argyle, It can't possibly be less than 12 for the reason given in the footnote. Love your avatar :D –  ikegami May 16 at 19:37

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.