Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Avacyn, Angel of Hope has indestructible and gives the other creatures he controls indestructible as well. if it is tapped, are his other creatures still indestructible? Example, if he plays avacyn angel of hope and I play Claustrophobia on it, am I able to kill his other creatures, or do they still have the indestructible ability?

share|improve this question
What would lead you to believe that tapping Avacyn would change anything? – Brian S May 19 '14 at 13:52
That is an important question, because there may be some other basic rules that are being misunderstood. – GendoIkari May 19 '14 at 16:19
Claustrophobia is the Blue flavour for removal, so I can see the hope that it would serve the same function as Doom Blade. Unfortunately, not so much. – deworde May 19 '14 at 18:33

All creatures will remain indestructible.

The only things that being tapped means is that a creature cannot attack, cannot block, and cannot tap to pay for activated abilities. Other than that, tapping has no effect.

share|improve this answer
Note that you can still pay for activated abilities that you don't need to tap for. – deworde May 19 '14 at 18:47

Tapping has no effect on static abilities such as Avacyn's. All creatures will remain indestructible.

The ability would only work as described if it read "While Avacyn, Angel of Hope is untapped, other permanents you control have indestructible." or something similar.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.