Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Let's say that you have Skinshifter in play and your opponent attacks with a 3/3 token. You choose to block with Skinshifter and in response to the block, transform him into a 4/4 rhino creature with trample. Then your opponent (in response to you transforming Skinshifter) plays Magma Jet and targets the now transformed Skinshifter. Can you transform Skinshifter a second time provided you have the mana?

share|improve this question
With regard to "targets the now transformed Skinshifter" - You seem to have some confusion about what it means to "respond to" something. When your opponent responds to Skinshifter's activated ability, it has not transformed yet. It dies to Magma Jet, and then the ability resolves, but Skinshifter is dead now, so nothing happens. – Rainbolt May 20 '14 at 16:11
up vote 7 down vote accepted

No. the last line of the ability literally states: "Active this ability only once each turn"

share|improve this answer

Actually, with Rings of Brighthearth, you can manage to transform Skinshifter twice in one turn. (But do note that you can't change modes on the copied ability.)

share|improve this answer
Whilst that's technically true, it won't help the asker do what they're trying to do. – doppelgreener May 21 '14 at 6:47

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.