Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I played my first few games of Forbidden Island last night, and one of the roles we played was the Diver. We weren't 100% sure of the meaning of his special ability, so I wanted to ask if anyone had any clarification to make sure we play correctly in future.

The Diver's ability (from memory, edit if incorrect) says:

The Diver may move through any number of flooded or sunken tiles for 1 action

does this mean that the Diver can move to any land tile connected by flooded/sunken tiles? Or does it mean that moving through any number of such tiles is 1 action, and emerging onto land again is a second action?

to illustrate, here is an example: let X be a sunken tile, T be a regular tile, and FT be a flooded tile.

T1 - FT1 - X - FT2 - T2.

Does moving the diver from T1 to T2 constitute 1 action, or 2 (one to move to FT2, and one to move the last square)?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

You got it right the first time. In your example, it takes the diver 1 move action to go from T1 to T2. The Diver is incredibly useful for quickly getting around the island while it's flooded. It's not as overpowered as it would initially seem... until tiles start sinking, the Diver hasn't any other special abilities. In later stages of the game, you can ensure he'll probably survive.

share|improve this answer
    
Isn't the diver impossible to lose due to his ability to use swim when moving away from a sunken tile? –  Guvante May 22 at 16:28
1  
No. If the Diver is caught in a sunken tile and there's no adjacent tile to get to, you lose, just like all the other roles. –  generalcrispy May 22 at 19:13
2  
Neither the pilot nor the diver may die unless they are on the last tile. End of page 7 of the rules. "Exceptions: The Diver may swim to the nearest tile. The Explorer may swim diagonally. The Pilot may fly to any tile." –  Guvante May 22 at 21:47
    
Oh good, I stand corrected. –  generalcrispy May 23 at 12:22

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.