Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Rule 605.3a says:

A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever he or she has priority, whenever he or she is casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment, even if it's in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability.

Do I understand correctly that I can tap Pheres-Band Tromper enchanted with Karametra's Favor for mana in my opponent's end step even if I do not need any of it? If it works I could trigger inspired every turn without the need for attacking. Some years ago, mana burn definitely would have prevented this kind of play.

share|improve this question
For the record, it wouldn't have prevented this behavior. A lot of people would pay 1 life for a +1/+1 counter! – corsiKa May 26 '14 at 14:49
@corsiKa, But that penalty reduces the benefit of that combo effect. – Pacerier Jul 4 '15 at 17:25
up vote 8 down vote accepted

Yes, you can activate a mana ability even if you do not plan to use the mana. This is often called floating mana. This means that yes, you can use Karametra's Favor to trigger an Inspired ability every turn. Since the Magic 2010 rules update, mana burn does not exist any more, so keeping this mana in your mana pool until the end of the phase has no downside.

share|improve this answer
What are other names for "floating mana"? – Pacerier Jul 4 '15 at 17:26

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.