Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have an Elvish Mystic (EM) and Pharika Mender (PM) in my graveyard, and a Gray Merchant of Asphodel (GMOA)on the battlefield. At the end of my opponent's turn, I play Rescue from The Underworld (RFTU), sacrificing my GMOA as the additional cost to cast it. I choose PM as my target for RFTU.

During my upkeep, GMOA and PM enters the battlefield and their trigger are put on the stack. I place PM's trigger first, and then GMOA's trigger.

In respond to GMOA's trigger, my opponent kills GMOA, and then GMOA's trigger resolves -- which means PM's trigger resolves next.

When PM's trigger resolves, am I able to target GMOA to return it to my hand?

share|improve this question
1  
Can we use the proper abbreviation for "Gray Merchant of Asphodel", Gary? =) –  corsiKa May 28 at 20:42
    
Also, why wouldn't you put GMOA's trigger on first, and then PM's trigger? This way, you could bring back a Black permanent for a higher devotion count for GMOA's trigger. –  corsiKa May 28 at 20:44
    
Pharika's trigger returns the card to your hand, so devotion count doesn't change, as much as I'd like it to. ; ) –  Googooboyy May 29 at 2:59

1 Answer 1

up vote 14 down vote accepted

No

The targets of abilities and spells are chosen as these go on the stack, so you should have had a target chosen already even before the merchant died in the first place.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.