Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

During the combat phase, after I assign a blocker, can I then tap that blocker for its activated ability? What would happen? For example, say that a 1/1 Saproling token equipped with Healer's Headress is assigned to block an attacking 3/1 Blade of the Sixth Pride, but after it's assigned, the Saproling is tapped to prevent one damage to it. Is that legal? Would anything change if the attacking creature had first strike, like Ambush Party?

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by bwarner, bengoesboom, doppelgreener, ikegami May 30 at 1:40

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

    
@bwarner True, the questions do ask the same thing. I am flagging as well, even though it's my own question. –  Ian May 30 at 0:38

1 Answer 1

During the combat phase, after I assign a blocker, can I then tap that blocker for its activated ability?

Yes. Blockers only need to be untapped when they're acually declared as blockers; after that, tapping & untapping have no effect on blocking or any other parts of combat.

506.4b Tapping or untapping a creature that’s already been declared as an attacker or blocker doesn’t remove it from combat and doesn’t prevent its combat damage.


What would happen?

The activated ability would go on the stack, like normal.

For example, say that a 1/1 Saproling token equipped with Healer's Headress is assigned to block an attacking 3/1 Blade of the Sixth Pride, but after it's assigned, the Saproling is tapped to prevent one damage to it. Is that legal?

Yes.

Would anything change if the attacking creature had first strike, like Ambush Party?

No.

share|improve this answer
4  
First strike indeed doesn't change anything in this example, but just for completeness, it does create one more opportunity to do things like tapping for the ability: you'll get another chance after first strike damage (well, assuming the creature with the ability hasn't died yet) but before regular combat damage, and in weird corner cases that might actually be what you want. –  Jefromi May 28 at 21:44

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.