Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have Tyr's Hand installed in a remote server and Heimdall 2.0 protecting it. The runner declares a run and approaches Heimdall 2.0. I pay to rez the ice, and the runner decides to break all three subroutines with whatever means are at her disposal.

Is it correct that Tyr's Hand can be rezzed and trashed now to prevent the runner from breaking the second subroutine (1 brain damage, end the run)? And is it correct that essentially the runner has no way of avoiding this from happening - once they have elected to break a subroutine, I can prevent them from breaking it and they must suffer the consequences?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Tyr's Hand should be rezzed after the runner encounters a piece of bioroid ice and declares that they are going to break subroutines on that ice (usually via clicks/breakers). So, in your example, you would rez Heimdall 2.0 first, and if the runner declares that they are going to break the subs, then you would rez Tyr's Hand. So, you don't have to rez Tyr's Hand when you rez the ICE (which might be useful if they see Heimdall can't break anything anyways).

When the runner declares that they are breaking, you can rez Tyr's hand and trash it to prevent one subroutine from being broken. This means: whatever the runner spent to break that subroutine is still spent (e.g. 2 clicks from 2.0 ICE, or credits) - however, they can still spend more to rebreak the subroutine. So, if they used a breaker - perhaps it just costs them an extra credit. But if they were relying on clicks, then they are out of luck!

share|improve this answer
    
OK, so if they approached Viktor 1.0 with two clicks left, and decided to use both clicks to break both subroutines, I can rez Tyr's Hand and trash it. If I picked the brain damage subroutine they could still pay to break it again, but with no clicks left... bad luck? –  markp3rry May 30 at 19:40
    
Exactly. In other words, if they hit Viktor 1.0 with 3 clicks left (running first click), and declare they are spending 2 clicks to break both subroutines, you can rez Tyr's Hand to stop from one break... but they can still use their 4th click to rebreak it. –  Twitch_City May 30 at 20:00
    
+1! I don't know if there are good options out there for Netrunner, but if this were an analogous MtG question a great answer would be supported with a keyword and comprehensive rules quote. If there's a similarly official source to back up your explanation, it would be awesome to include it. –  Gregor May 30 at 21:02

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.