Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In what scenarios or formats can a player draw even when they are going first?

For example: I usually play that if there are more than 2 teams (each team having 1 or more players) then the first team can draw on their first turn.

Are there other scenarios or formats that affect this?

share|improve this question
up vote 15 down vote accepted

When there are more than two players/teams.

103.7a In a two-player game, the player who plays first skips the draw step (see rule 504, “Draw Step”) of his or her first turn.

103.7b In a Two-Headed Giant game, the team who plays first skips the draw step of their first turn.

103.7c In all other multiplayer games, no player skips the draw step of his or her first turn.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.