Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This is a multi-part question about empty remote servers. Each of these questions came up during gameplay and I'm hoping to get clarification on them since some of the interactions aren't completely clear.

  1. What defines an empty remote server? If a remote server has ICE protecting it but no agenda/asset/whatever installed behind the ICE, is it still empty?
  2. Is an empty remote server analogous to a new remote server? For an example of context, let's say when playing Mushin No Shin.
  3. Consider a remote server with no ICE that has an asset installed with an ability that has a cost of trashing the asset (say, like Jackson Howard). The runner runs on the server and in response the corp trashes the asset. Does the server still exist or is it simply an empty remote server? Is the run still successful?
share|improve this question
    
Can you explain how the corp trashes the Jackson Howard in #3? I'm having trouble finding which rule allows that. netrunnerdb.com/en/rules –  Andrew Vandever Jun 9 at 20:09

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted
  1. A remote server requires at least one piece of ICE protecting it or at least one card installed in the server itself (i.e. agenda/asset/upgrade) to exist. The three central servers always exist. "Empty" would refer to a server with only ICE protecting it, and nothing in it.

  2. Empty servers already exist so is different from a new server. Cards like Mushin No Shin, which specify a new server, must interact with a new server (i.e. that they create).

  3. If a server ceases to exist during the run (e.g. as the result of a Jackson Howard trash that you describe), the run immediately ends, and is considered neither successful nor unsuccessful.

    The same is true if the trashed card is an ICE. For instance, if an empty server is defended only by a Data Mine which triggers, the server ceases to exist.

share|improve this answer
    
Interesting. So for the third question, triggers that need a successful or unsuccessful run will not apply, correct? –  Ellesedil Jun 9 at 13:21
1  
Exactly. So, if you Dirty Laundry a naked Jackson Howard and the Corp uses his ability, you don't get the credits since it isn't successful. –  Twitch_City Jun 9 at 14:06
    
The reference in the rules for #3 is netrunnerdb.com/en/rules#faq12, BUT I'm having trouble finding any justification in the rules for the Jackson Howard example in particular. A better example might be an empty server protected only by Paper Wall? –  Andrew Vandever Jun 9 at 20:13
    
@AndrewVandever: On page 33 of the official rules, a run on a naked server immediately goes to step 4. Technically, the runner can decide to jack out, but if they're looking for a successful run that is unlikely. Then in step 4.1, cards can be rezzed and paid abilities can be triggered. Jackson's trash ability is a paid ability. When Jackson is trashed, this then causes the interaction that you are citing in the FAQ since the server is now destroyed. –  Ellesedil Jun 10 at 0:14
    
In hindsight @AndrewVandever, that would actually make for a decent BG@SE question since run timings can become confusing. –  Ellesedil Jun 10 at 0:23

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.