Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This question already has an answer here:

Do counters added to a god with Gleam of Battle disappear when the god stops being a creature?

Scenario: Purphoros, God of the Forge is a creature (due to devotion reaching the required amount) and Gleam of Battle is also on the battlefield. Then Purphoros attacks and gets a +1/+1 counter for attacking. If my devotion to red then drops below 5 and Purphoros is no longer a creature, would the +1/+1 counters stay on him or will he reset to his original power/toughness level?

My thinking is when he becomes an enchantment he loses it due to the fact that he is no longer a creature and that his power and toughness are technically not there and so he gets remade into being a creature only when devotion is high enough.

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by Brian S, Rainbolt, Jefromi, bengoesboom, Colin D Jun 12 at 18:49

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

2 Answers 2

Counters are not removed from a permanent even when they stop being relevant to it.

Take the example of Raging Ravine : it says

2RG: Until end of turn, Raging Ravine becomes a 3/3 red and green Elemental creature with "Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it." It's still a land.

On gatherer we can see the ruling :

Any +1/+1 counters put on Raging Ravine remain on it even after it stops being a creature. They'll have no effect until it becomes a creature again.

Related : Can non-creature permanents have +1/+1 counters?

share|improve this answer
2  
Better yet, Llanowar Reborn prove that +1/+1 counters can exist on non-creatures without relying on rulings. –  ikegami Jun 12 at 13:41

They absolutely stay. According to the comprehensive rules, emphasis mine:

205.1a Some effects set an object's card type. In such cases, the new card type(s) replaces any existing card types. Counters, effects, and damage marked on the object remain with it, even if they are meaningless to the new card type.

share|improve this answer
    
Impressively short and to the point. There are 245 occurences of the word Counter in the comp rules, and section 121 is literally titled 121. Counters, and yet you somehow found this in section 205. –  Rainbolt Jun 12 at 18:37

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.