Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When a capturing move of a non-promoted cell is at the king-row, the cell becomes a king cell and can't make any other capturing move even if there are available.

What about a promoted cell that makes a capturing move is at the king-row, and there are capturing moves available?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

All capturing moves are compulsory (with the exception of your choice of which capturing sequence to take).

It is a special case that causes a pieces movement to end when it is promoted.

In your case, the piece was already promoted before re-entering the king-row as part of a capturing sequence. Its movement does not end and you must continue to make the available capturing moves.

share|improve this answer

For the checkers variant predominantly played in the US/UK, see the answer by @ColinD. The same rules applies to almost every other checkers/draughts variant.

In the Russian draughts variant, however, if a man passes the king-row during a capture sequence, it promotes and continues to jump as a king until it is finished.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.