Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

An example situation :

Living Death resolves while there is a Urabrask the Hidden in my graveyard and another creature in my opponent's graveyard. Urabrask says "Creatures your opponents control enter the battlefield tapped."

Will my opponent's creature come into play tapped if it enters the battlefield at the same time as Urabrask?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

No, your opponent's creatures will not enter tapped.

The ability "Creatures your opponents control enter the battlefield tapped" creates a replacement effect on creatures entering the battlefield. Rule 614.4 says

Replacement effects must exist before the appropriate event occurs -- they can't "go back in time" and change something that's already happened.

Since your Urabrask wasn't on the battlefield before your opponent's creature entered, it's ability does not effect that creatures.

share|improve this answer
One exception: 614.12 allows for effects to come from the permanent itself if they affect only that permanent (as opposed to a general subset of permanents that includes it), allowing for Akoum Refuge first ability to work. That exception does not apply here. – ikegami Jun 23 '14 at 19:37

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.