Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Situation: A squad of (jet)bikes has several Markerlights on them. The tau player is about to shoot at them with some Plasma or other weapon w/ low enough AP to punch their armor.

Does the Tau player have to declare Markerlight usage before Bike player Jinks? Or do the Bikes have to declare Jink before finding out whether the Tau player is going to use the Markerlights to ignore cover?

I am ONLY concerned with 7th Edition rules. 6th Edition was clear cut as Jink was automatic.

ETA: Jink (7th Edition):

When a unit with any models with the jink special rule is selected as a target for a shooting attack, you may declare that it will jink. the decision must be made before any of the to hit rolls have been made. If the unit jinks all models in the unit with this special rule gain a 4+ cover save until the start of their next movement phase, but they can only fire snap shots until the end of their next turn.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

The abilities of Jink and Markerlights apply at different phase of the combat and neither need to be declared until they are about to be utilized.

6th edition

Jink: A model with this special rule that has moved in its Movement phase gains a 5+ cover save until the start of its next Movement phase.

7th edition

When a unit with any models with the jink special rule is selected as a target for a shooting attack, you may declare that it will jink. the decision must be made before any of the to hit rolls have been made. If the unit jinks all models in the unit with this special rule gain a 4+ cover save until the start of their next movement phase, but they can only fire snap shots until the end of their next turn.

In short, for models with Jink, this special rule automatically applies provided the model has moved in its movement phase and does not need to be declared until the Tau attack which applies the Markerlight.

Instead, each time a unit suffers a hit with this special rule, place a markerlight counter next to it (no saves can be taken against these hits). ... Immediately before a unit from Codex: Tau Empire shoots at a target that has one or more markerlight counters, it can declare it is using one or more of the markerlight abilities listed below.

So in your situation in which the Markerlights are already on the jetbikes, Jink has already been rolled for (or should have been). The order goes like this:

  1. Tau with special rule 'target acquired' attacks jetbikes
  2. Jetbikes-controller declares Jink rule prior to to-hit rolls and takes cover saves in response to successful hits
  3. A successful hit applies markerlights to the unit
  4. The Tau player can declare Scour/Seeker to add Ignore Cover
  5. The Jetbikes have no cover during this shooting phase.

OR

If Pinpoint is declared, then no Ignore Cover special rule is added. When the Tau player attacks, each Jetbike unit may claim Jink (again provided they moved in the movement phase) and take their 5+ or 4+ cover save.

share|improve this answer
    
It sounds to me like you are still using 6th edition Jink rules. Jink is no longer automatic. –  aslum Jun 30 at 14:21
    
It's true the rules I've cited are from a 6th edition rulebook, which I should have indicated, though I see nothing in your edit citing 7th edition that suggests the rule flow I've provided is not applicable and largely unchanged for the purposes of 7th edition. –  hexparrot Jun 30 at 15:09
    
I do not mean to suggest that Jink automatically occurs, but rather Jink is available automatically when the unit with the special rule moves. As stated for models with Jink, this special rule automatically applies provided the model has moved in its movement phase and does not need to be declared *until the Tau attack* which applies the Markerlight. Emphasis on until the Tau attack, which is corroborated by the 7th edition clarified wording. –  hexparrot Jun 30 at 15:18

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.