Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control.

Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter creature card that I may want to use on the next sliver (and the mana to do both). I can't cast it while Root Sliver is still on the stack as it is not on the battlefield yet so I cannot target it.

As I understand it after the stack resolves however my opponent regains priority meaning they can put their next sliver spell on the empty stack before I have a chance to play my card to destroy the Root Sliver.

I was originally thinking I could put both the counter and the destroy in the stack but the counter would have to go on first so that it would resolve after the destroy, but since before the destroy resolves the sliver on the stack is not a valid target for the counter so this move is illegal.

Is it possible to kill the Root Sliver in time to counter the next sliver?

share|improve this question
4  
You can put the counter spell on the stack targeting the sliver by the way. It just won't do anything when it resolves if you haven't removed root sliver by that time. "Can't be countered" is not the same thing as "cannot be targeted by spells and abilities." It's just like casting Terror on an indestructible creature. The play is legal, it just won't do anything when it resolves. –  Affe Jun 27 at 19:16

1 Answer 1

up vote 10 down vote accepted

Your opponent gets to put their silver on the stack first. However, you can then add your incinerate to the stack, targetting their Root Silver.

  1. Incinerate
  2. New Sliver

You can then pass so the Incinerate resolves, destroying the Root Sliver. Stack is now:

  1. New Sliver

Then you cast your counterspell so the stack is

  1. Counterspell
  2. New Sliver

Your counterspell resolves, and the New Sliver is countered.

share|improve this answer
    
Oh I didn't know you had an opportunity to play cards as the stack resolves. I thought once it started resolving it was going resolve completely before anyone gained priority. –  Fr33dan Jun 27 at 16:26
1  
That's the way it worked in Magic 4thEdition, but since the introduction of the stack both players get a chance to add things to the stack every time something resolves. –  Nick Jun 27 at 16:28
2  
The play described in the original question is actually completely legal too. Although this is a better line of play because your counterspell isn't wasted if your opponent cancels your incinerate. –  Affe Jun 27 at 19:26
1  
This is a possible line of play, but I'd like to see @Affe's comments included in an answer - details on how counterspells work when something can't be countered, as well as how spells resolve on the stack would greatly improve the understanding of how this interaction could work. –  Ian Pugsley Jun 27 at 19:55
1  
I'll add that there are situations where an opponent's creature entering the battlefield will result in a trigger, allowing you a chance to respond to the triggered ability before your opponent can do any sorcery-speed action. (This matters against Birthing Pod decks where you can Dismember a Deceiver Exarch before your opponent can pod it into Restoration Angel.) –  Hao Ye Jun 27 at 21:50

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.