Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Played my first game of Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game the other day and I was able to get 3 success tokens out of the 5 required from my first story due to the other player not having any characters on the board.

I played a character that had one investigator icon, which means he wins the investigation struggle and gets a success token, and then he wins another success token for having the most skill, and then the third for the story being unopposed.

Is this correct? Would you still get three tokens even though the character does not have an investigation icon?

share|improve this question
It's been a long time since I've played this (which is why this is a comment, and not an answer), but your summary looks correct. You get one for having the most Skill; and a second because you won unopposed. As for struggles,you'll only win them if you have more icons than your opponent, so a character with no Investigate icons will net you 2 tokens if it's unopposoed at a story. – andrewsi Jul 4 '14 at 18:24
up vote 0 down vote accepted

So after playing this a lot more times and going through the rules as well, this is the case.

Winning an investigation icon gives you one success token immediately. Winning the story based on the skills of your committed characters gives you another, and finally, if at the end there are no opposing characters on the story, you get another success token for winning unopposed

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.