Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Does "Destroy all creatures with power 4 or greater" also affect my creatures? I have a planeswalker card that has this ability; will it also kill my creatures? Also, this only affects creatures on the battlefield, not in players' hands, right?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 11 down vote accepted

It will destroy your creatures as well. Just read the card literally. There's nothing there to imply that your creatures would be excluded. As for players' hands, the word "creature" by default means "a creature card or token on the battlefield." You cannot have a "creature" in your hand, you can only have a "creature card" in your hand. Finally, note that "destroy" would have no meaning when used on a card in your hand, it would have to say "discard" to remove a card from your hand.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks, this is all what I was thinking to be the case. –  MPW Jul 3 at 20:42
    
It's useful to note that Elspeth, Sun's Champion makes 1/1 tokens that go up to 3 power if you manage to make an emblem. Thus there isn't much drawback to the second ability being able to hit your own creatures. –  Hao Ye Jul 3 at 22:09
    
@HaoYe: Yes, I see. But I guess I need to be careful to make the emblem AFTER the destroy if I don't want to kill a precious creature in the process. Thanks for pointing all this out! –  MPW Jul 3 at 22:31

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.