Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This question already has an answer here:

Elspeth, Sun's Champion has a loyalty ability which says:

Place three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the battlefield.

When this ability is activated, do these soldiers have summoning sickness? I ask because Elspeth herself does not have summoning sickness when placed onto the battlefield.

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by CrystalBlue, diego, murgatroid99 magic-the-gathering Jul 22 '15 at 17:22

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Yes, they'll have summoning sickness. Every creature experiences summoning sickness, without exception, unless something says it doesn't, such as having Haste. Elspeth herself doesn't experience Summoning Sickness because she isn't a creature - she's a planeswalker.

For an example of a Planeswalker that places creatures which do have Haste, see Xenagos, the Reveler.

Summoning sickness comes from rule 302.6:

302.6. A creatures activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost cant be activated unless the creature has been under its controllers control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature cant attack unless it has been under its controllers control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule.

In short: Summoning Sickness means a creature can't attack, or activate abilities with a tap or untap symbol in their cost, until they've been under your control since your untap step.

If a permanent on the battlefield is turned into a creature — e.g. you transform your Mutavault — it will suddenly start being affected by summoning sickness, if you haven't controlled that permanent since the beginning of your turn. For this reason, an alternate way to describe it is that everything has summoning sickness, but it only affects things if they're creatures.

Creatures affected by summoning sickness can still be tapped by other things, though. You can cast Devout Invocation, for instance, and tap a creature that you only just summoned.

share|improve this answer
Thanks for the information! – MPW Jul 4 '14 at 12:42
As a side note, if Elspeth were to somehow become a creature (by a combination of Mycosynth Lattice and March of the Machines, for example), she would have summoning sickness. You would still be able to activate her abilities, because they don't require tapping, but you wouldn't be able to attack with her the turn you played her. – murgatroid99 Jul 4 '14 at 14:11
I usually try to explain to new players that everything has summoning sickness, but it only affects creatures. The Summoning Sickness video from the Judge's Corner on Youtube also explains it like this. – Rainbolt Jul 5 '14 at 7:24

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.