Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the Science Fiction Double Feature expansion, the card Copycat allows you to copy the ability of another's player minion for a turn.

Choose another player's minion in play. This card has the same ability as that minion until the end of the turn.

However, the timing of the copy is not clear. When I play Copycat it's ability activates. If I copy an ability that says "You may draw a card", does it activate again allowing me to draw a card? Or can I only effectively copy Ongoing abilities (and those that remain for the rest of the turn, like "you may play an extra minion")?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 3 down vote accepted

The whole point of Copycat is to allow you to use another minion's ability. Making it impossible to copy most minion's ability makes makes no sense to me, and it makes no sense to the others with whom I've played either.

Keep in mind that you're already limited to abilities of other player's minions in play (something you have no control over), and that ongoing abilities and talents only work for your turn. This offsets the ability to have some flexibility in the effect of the minions ability.

We have it come into play with the abilities of the minion it copies. Playing a Copycat masquerading as an Enchantress ("Draw a card.") would have you draw a card, because it is an Enchantress as far as any can tell (except in name and power).

It's not really an "again" type of situation. You get to use the Enchantress's ability once. Just like the Enchantress did.

share|improve this answer
    
By the way, I since had a look at the factions, and very few have any abilities that would be usable by Copycat if it only copied ongoing abilities of minions. There's no doubt in my mind that it clones one-shot abilities. –  ikegami Nov 4 at 18:21

The copying part of Copy Cat is done on play, so yes you would get 'Enchantresses' ability to draw a card. However, to draw that card you'd have to play that card, just like any other card. Since you're not playing it again, you don't get to draw a card.

Copy cat is still really good, you get Talent's, Specials, and On-Going abilities.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.