Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The STOP card in bridge is used in order to help all players keep their rights, as far as thinking is concerned. However I have some questions.

  1. When do we have to use the STOP card. Should STOP be used before ANY jump bid? I find logic to use stop in bids like 1S-3S or 1H-(2S). But how about 1NT-3NT. What is the official rule?

  2. The second question is about HOW to use the stop card. Here are some options.

    1. This is what i think that should happen

      • Show STOP card
      • make your bid
      • Remove stop card (no waiting)
      • (opponent waits 5-8 seconds)
      • opponent makes his bid
    2. This is what most people think that should happen

      • Show STOP card
      • make your bid
      • wait 5-8 seconds
      • Remove stop card
      • opponent makes his bid

Which one is the official way according to the rules?

The reason why I think that the second option is not "correct", is because the player who used the STOP could wait 10-20 (or more) seconds before removing it. What should the opponent do?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

The answer to your first question is that you should use it either for all skip bids, or for no skip bid. Using it only for some skip bids but not for others could result in a director call and a procedural penalty against you for intentionally transmitting unauthorized information to your partner.

As to your second question: option 1 is correct under the jurisdiction of the ACBL (ie essentially all games in the US and Canada), while option 2 is correct under the jurisdiction of the WBF (essentially all other games).

share|improve this answer
so, if I use stop in the sequence 1spade-4spades, then I must use STOP when i bid 1NT-3NT? – Thanos Darkadakis Jul 8 '14 at 13:55
@ThanosDarkadakis Yes, absolutely. – ruds Jul 8 '14 at 20:56

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.