Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I use Shapesharer to copy Stoneforge Mystic do I get to search my library for an Equipment card when I perform the copy?

share|improve this question
A change in a permanent's characteristics (power, toughness, name, abilities, etc) is not a considered an entering of the battlefield. Entering the battlefield is a change in zones. – ikegami Jul 9 '14 at 17:43
up vote 7 down vote accepted

No. Shapesharer does not enter the battlefield when its ability resolves: it was already in play. Stoneforge Mystic's ability only triggers when it enters the battlefield.

Of course, you could use the Shapesharer-Mystic's activated ability after resolving the copy effect.

Note that if you used a different copy card such as Clone, you would get the Mystic's triggered ability, because the copy effect would replace the regular act of entering the battlefield.

share|improve this answer

No. The new Stoneforge Mystic will not "enter the battlefield", because it is already on the battlefield. In order for "enters the battlefield" triggers to trigger, the object must change zones from some other zone to the battlefield.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.